UUFCM Board Meeting August 15, 2020 1:15 pm via Zoom

Present: Mel Bailey, Norma Bailey, Brigitte Bechtold, Jennifer Davis, Drew Frantz, Aaron Jones, Guy Newland, Carol Rard, Terrie Robbie

UUFCM Board Covenant

As members of the UUFCM Board of Trustees, we covenant to keep the best interests of the congregation at heart and to carry out the trust placed in us as guardians of the Mission and the Principles and as stewards of the resources of our church.

We commit to:

- Be prompt, prepared, present, and to participate.
- Communicate respectfully; all will be heard and we will seek consensus.
- Use discretion in communications beyond the Board.
- Support the decisions and policies of the Board

UUFCM Mission Statement: To be a religious community guided by love transforming our lives and our world.

- 1. Chalice Lighting (Guy)
- 2. Check in
- 3. Visitor comment
- 4. Minutes of July 12 UUFCM Board Meeting

Moved (C. Rard/N. Bailey) to approve the minutes of the meeting of July 12. Approved.

- 5. Reports all received
 - a. Treasurer Report

A Social Justice category has been added to the donations section on the website. It will be treated like the infant pantry and be zeroed out every month.

b. Minister's report

Moved (C. Rard/T. Robbie) to designate \$1,505 (rent + utilities + insurance) of the minister's monthly compensation as housing allowance, beginning with the September 2020 paycheck, in accordance with the existing contract and UUA guidelines. **Approved.**

- c. Worship Team Report
- d. Coordinating Team Report

Jennifer Davis will serve as the board liaison.

e. Building Team

Moved (B. Bechtold/C. Rard) to accept the gift offered by Kris Los of a two-foot round chalice in heavy-gauge metal to be hung on the Wisconsin Street side door. **Approved.**

- f. RE Team
- g. Social Justice Coordinating Team Report
- h. Committee on Shared Ministry
- 6. Old Business
 - a. Update on prospects of calling/retaining Drew-(Guy/Drew)

Update: We expect an answer from Drew's query about the exemption by October 5th.

Moved (C. Rard/B. Bechtold) to reappoint the search committee that was in place for the last search for a contract minister. **Approved.**

The committee consists of Norma Bailey, Jim Dealing, Laura McBride, Guy Newland, and Katie Zapoluch. This will be included in the August 16 Fellowship Life Meeting.

b. UUFCM 20th Anniversary: planning committee needed (Guy)

Gisela Moffit and Laura McBride will work on this, and Nancy White will help.

c. Calendar for year now planned; Board handbooks updated (Norma)

d. Formation of a Communications Team

Moved (C. Rard/N. Bailey) to form a separate communications team to deal with internal and external communication, and that it will include a person who acts as liaison to the Coordinating Team. Kirsten Keeton will be asked to be on the team as part of her job, as part of communications involves the website and e-news. **Approved.** Names proposed in addition to Kirsten: Sally Armstrong, Stacey Pattison, Aaron Jones, Drew Frantz.

7. New business:

a. Act on contract for Kendra Peffers 9/1-1/10/2021 (Norma)

Moved (N. Bailey/C. Rard) to approve the contract for Kendra Peffers as written. Approved.

b. Act on recommendation of the Building team to accept Kris Los' donation (Norma) See item 5-e above.

c. Proposed revision of policy creating the Committee on Shared Ministry (Guy) **Moved** (B. Bechtold/N. Bailey) to revise the policy as proposed, with the terms of appointment to be three years beginning next year. **Approved.**

d. Discuss draft policy on Disruptive Behavior from Committee on Shared Ministry (Guy) Board members are asked to provide feedback on the draft so that it can be considered for adoption at the September meeting.

e. Approval of housing allowance request from Drew (Norma, Drew, Terrie) See item 5-b above.

f. Report on effort by Mount Pleasant to assess UUFCM for parking lot (Norma) Norma Bailey and Terrie Robbie will look into this further, including the specifications of the original agreement that was in place when Art Reach occupied the building.

g. Who are the members/chairs of each team for this year? (Guy)

The members, board liaisons and chairpersons of the standing committees and teams were listed. The standing committees and teams are: Religious Education, Social Justice, Worship, Finance, and Coordinating. There are also several ad hoc committees and task forces, dealing with coronavirus, sexual harassment, environment, voting, and the ministerial search committee. See Appendix at the end of the minutes.

h. Establish liaisons for the various teams

i. Plan Fellowship Life meeting for August (Guy)

At the Fellowship Life Meeting of August 16, Guy Newland will cover the five goals that were prioritized at the retreat and will update the congregation on the efforts relating to Drew Frantz becoming our called minister.

- 8. Review August and September tickler calendar
- 9. Visitor comments

There were no visitors.

Meeting adjourned at 3:28 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Brigitte Bechtold, Secretary

UUFCM Teams/Committees as of August 2020

Fellowship Life Coordinating Team Gisela Moffit – chair Kris Los Laura McBride Annette Pratt Janis Shinn Jen Davis—board liaison

RE Team

Mel Bailey – chair, board liaison Matt Cavalieri Andrea Devenney Kendra Peffers (DRE)

Social Justice Coordinating Team Norma Bailey – chair, board liaison Joyce Henricks Jen Prout Sara Prussing Janis Shinn Candi Tomlinson Katie Zapoluch

Building and Safety Team Norma Bailey – chair, board liaison Deb Allore Kris Los

Worship Team Drew Frantz – chair, liaison Norma Bailey Laura McBride Annette Pratt Kendra Peffers

Finance Team Terrie Robbie – chair/liaison Chris Bailey Dave Macleod

Ad hoc Voting Rights Group David Wagstaff Norma Bailey Jessica Jernigan

Ad hoc Environment Working Group Daniel Davis Sara Prussing Deb Allore

Ricky Courlander Terrie Robbie Corona Virus Response Task Force Drew Frantz (ex officio) Deb Allore Kris Los Laura McBride Sexual Harassment Policy Drafting Group Mel Bailey Drew Frantz Sally Armstrong Minister Search Committee (formerly: Transition Team) Katie Zapoluch Guy Newland Norma Bailey Jim Dealing Laura McBride Committee on Shared Ministry Drew Frantz-chair and liaison Guy Newland Carolyn Hancock Chris Bailey

Communications Committee (being formed) Sally Armstrong (chair) Other members yet to be determined